Accreditation

Accreditation Information (on campus only)

The Department of Accreditation provides guidance to ensure Cleveland Clinic is continually in compliance with the highest level of quality care and patient safety standards as set by Joint Commission, CMS, NCQA, ODH and other regulatory agencies.  Access to regulatory manuals, forms, survey readiness information and more.

All Medical, Nursing and Health Sciences Topics with Broad Subject Coverage

Access Case Files

Case files in basic sciences and clinical rotations. 

BrowZine

Search for journals provided by the Regional Hospital Libraries by title, subject, or ISSN.

CINAHL Nursing / Allied Health

Search for journal articles on topics in nursing and allied health. This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. 

ClinicalKey

Ebooks, ejournals, drug information, guidelines, patient education, multimedia, videos, and more

Ovid MEDLINE

Search MEDLINE database for basic, clinical, and other health sciences journal articles using the Ovid Advanced Search interface.

PubMed @ Cleveland Clinic Regional Hospitals

Search for journal articles on clinical medicine, nursing, surgery, basic sciences, allied health and more with customized links to full text for Cleveland Clinic.  MEDLINE is the main part of PubMed, however PubMed also contains links to articles in PubMed Central and other non-indexed articles.

R2 Digital Library

R2 provides e-books in the health sciences.

StatRef

Stat!Ref provides the following:

  • Ebooks in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology
  • Stedman's Medical Dictionary
  • EBMcalc for medical formulas and decision tree analysis
  • ICD-9 and ICD-10 conversion tools

UpToDate

Clinical information in medicine, general surgery, and medical specialties. Also includes calculators, drug information, patient education and more, 

Anesthesiology

Access Anethesiology

E-books, drug information, multimedia, case files, review questions, videos, and clerkship resources in anesthesiology.  Alternative spelling: AccessAnesthesiology

Cancer / Oncology

National Comprehensive Cancer Network NCCN

Guidelines by cancer type, detection, supportive care and more.  FREE but must register for a personal account.

Cardiology

Access Cardiology

E-books, drug information, multimedia, case files, review questions, videos, and clerkship resources in cardiology.  Alternative spelling: AccessCardiology

Clinical Trials

Cancer Clinical Trials - NCI

Find cancer clinical trials supported by the National Cancer Institute - NCI.

ClinicalTrials.gov

Database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. Provided by the National Library of Medicine

Clinical Trials on COVID-19

Search ClinicalTrials.gov for COVID-19 trials.

Cochrane COVID-19 Study Register

Search thousands of studies by intervention, treatment, outcome, and age.  Multiple sources include PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov and more

Consumer Health

Cleveland Clinic Consumer Health Library

Search for diseases, treatments, drugs, diagnostics, testing and more. Find trusted health information reviewed by Cleveland Clinic health professionals.
How to cite

MedlinePlus

Find information on health, wellness, diseases, drugs, tests, and more.  Links to organizations and directories to find health professionals, services and facilities.  Produced by the National Library of Medicine.

Drug Info / Pharmacy

Access Pharmacy

E-books, drug information, multimedia, case files, review questions, videos, and clerkship resources in pharmacy.  Alternative spelling: AccessPharmacy

A to Z List of Cancer Drugs - National Cancer Institute

Consumer-friendly information about drugs approved to treat cancer from the National Cancer Institute.

Drug Information Resources in Other Databases

Environmental Topics and Databases | Environmental Protection Agency EPA

Information on air, climate change, chemicals, greener living, health, land waste, water and more.

Food & Drug Administration - FDA

Find information on food safety, recalls, drug approvals, drug safety, drug regulatory information, medical devices, vaccines, and more.  Alternative name: US FDA, US Food & Drug Administration

Herbs and Supplements - MedlinePlus

Alphabetic list of herbs and supplements with information on its use, safety, and efficacy.

LactMed -- Drugs and Lactation Database

Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.

Lexicomp - Cleveland Clinic Formulary

Search for information on drugs, IV compatibility, interactions, drug identifications, calculators, and more

Available on campus only!

MedlinePlus Drugs & Supplements

Information about prescriptions drugs and over the counter medicines from the US National Library of Medicine.  Separate section on Herbs and Supplements.

Natural Medicines

Information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies

Emergency Medicine

Access Emergency Medicine

E-books, drug information, multimedia, case files, review questions, videos, and clerkship resources in emergency medicine.  Alternative spelling: AccessEmergencyMedicine or AccessEmergency Medicine

Evidence Based Practice / Guidelines

2023-2024 ASPAN Perianesthesia Nursing Standards, Practice Recommendations and Interpretive Statements

Contains principles of safety and ethics in perianesthesia practice, practice standards, practice recommendations, position statements, resources from partnering organizations, and interpretive statements which provide clarity and definition to key elements of the standards.

American Heart Assoc CPR & ECC Guidelines

Adult and pediatric guidelines for CPR and emergency cardiovascular care by the American Heart Association. 

Cochrane Library

Search Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Protocols, and Cochrane Clinical Answers

Guideline Central

Access to AHRQ Guidelines.  Not updated since July 16, 2018 when the National Guideline Clearinghouse was closed.

Guide to Clinical Preventive Services 2014

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on screening, counseling, and preventive medication topics on many clinical topics

Infusion Therapy Standards of Practice, 8th ed, 2021

Infusion therapy standards published by the Infusion Nurses Society in the Journal of Infusion Nursing.  Citation:  Gorski LA, Hadaway L, Hagle ME, Broadhurst D, Clare S, Kleidon T, Meyer BM, Nickel B, Rowley S, Sharpe E, Alexander M. Infusion Therapy Standards of Practice, 8th Edition. J Infus Nurs. 2021 Jan-Feb 01;44(1S Suppl 1):S1-S224. doi: 10.1097/NAN.0000000000000396. PMID: 33394637.

JAMAEvidence

Evidence based practice information including Users' Guides to the Medical Literature, the Rational Clinical Examination, education guides, calculators, learning tools, and more

NICE National Institute for Health and Care Excellence

Find pathways, guidance, standards, and indicators published by the UK National Institute for Health and Care Excellence NICE

U.S Preventive Services Task Force

The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in disease prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.

Library Tools for Full Text

BrowZine

Search for journals provided by the Regional Hospital Libraries by title, subject, or ISSN.

DOI and Pubmed Find Articles

Find full text by typing a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) or PubMed ID (PMID) using the search box on the home page.

Medical Education

NEJM Resident 360

Create personal account ON CAMPUS! Find helpful information such as Insights on Residency & Career Advice. Rotation Prep NOT part of subscription as of 1/5/21.

Medicine

Access Medicine

E-books, drug information, multimedia, case files, review questions, videos, and clerkship resources in medicine.  Alternative spelling: AccessMedicine

LitCovid

LitCovid tracks up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus, COVID-19. Most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to research articles in PubMed. Updated daily.

Neurology

Access Neurology

E-books, drug information, multimedia, case files, review questions, videos, and clerkship resources in neurology.  Alternative spelling: AccessNeurology

Nursing / Allied Health

2023-2024 ASPAN Perianesthesia Nursing Standards, Practice Recommendations and Interpretive Statements

Contains principles of safety and ethics in perianesthesia practice, practice standards, practice recommendations, position statements, resources from partnering organizations, and interpretive statements which provide clarity and definition to key elements of the standards.

AORN e-Guidelines

Find Guidelines for Perioperative Practice, tools, and FAQs published by AORN, Association of Perioperative Registered Nurses

CINAHL Nursing / Allied Health

Search for journal articles on topics in nursing and allied health. This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. 

Lippincott Advisor

Clinical information on diseases, signs and symptoms, diagnostic tests, treatments, procedures, guidelines, drugs, care planning, and more with a nursing and allied health focus

Lippincott Procedures

Find information on nursing and allied health procedures by specialty

National Rehabilitation Information Center NARIC

Find information, databases, and resources on rehabilitation, disability, and independent living

OT Seeker - Occupational Therapy

Database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. 

PEDRO - Physiotherapy Evidence

Database of randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy / physical therapy

Pediatrics

Access Pediatrics

E-books, drug information, multimedia, case files, review questions, videos, and clerkship resources in pediatrics.  Alternative spelling: AccessPediatrics

Neonatal Resuscitation Ebook Collection

Ebook collection from the American Academy of Pediatrics including guidelines, and the Textbook of Neonatal Resuscitation (NRP)

Red Book Online: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases

Full text of the latest edition of the Report of the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Infectious Diseases -- clinical guide to the 200 most common pediatric conditions.

Psychiatry / Psychology

PsychiatryOnline

Ebooks, ejournals, guidelines, and patient education from the American Psychiatric Association

Review / Study Materials

BoardVitals Exams

Board reviews and MOC question banks for more than 70 topics in medicine and nursing

Must register for personal account on campus! 

Statistics

AHA Guide - American Hospital Association

Find information on hospitals by name or system for facts like bed size, location, etc.

American Hospital Directory

Find information on hospitals such as bed size, services, utilization, etc. Access to free data only. No subscription.

HCUP Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project

Find health statistics, hospital and emergency room utilization, AHRQ quality indicators.  View statistics at the state and national levels.

National Center for Health Statistics

Find health statistics, vital records, and data from national surveys.  Produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention CDC

Ohio Department of Health

Find public health information, statistics, programs, and regulations from the Ohio Department of Health

Surgery & Surgical Specialties

Access Surgery

E-books, drug information, multimedia, case files, review questions, videos, and clerkship resources in surgery.  Alternative spelling: AccessSurgery

Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery Collection

Neurosurgery ebooks, including the newest edition of Greenberg's Handbook of Neurosurgery, case presentations, review question bank, videos, and images.

Writing / Publishing

Citation Management Guide

Learn more about the citation management systems supported by our library, including software descriptions, training resources, and other helpful information.

Instructions to Authors

Find links to web sites which provide instructions to authors for over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences. 
 

Journal Title Abbreviations

Find journal title abbreviations for journals in PubMed / Ovid MEDLINE / NCBI databases

Open Access Publishing Agreements

This page lists all of Cleveland Clinic libraries' current agreements with publishers that allow CCF authors to publish open access articles for little or no cost in selected journals.

Where to Publish

Where to Publish identifies potential publishers for your paper and helps you avoid predatory journals. Enter your topic and receive a ranking of journals based on the number of papers published on that topic. On campus only.

For questions or feedback about Where to Publish, or if you need more than the 200-paper limit, please contact Matt Weaver, Systems Librarian: weaverm2@ccf.org or ext. 57745.